Skip to content

Armenian TSOVINAR and Hittite INARA

January 14, 2014

1236992_170211723172330_423788449_nIn a fragment of Hittite mythology the weather god is defeated by the serpent. The god’s daughter, Inara, with her human lover, invites the serpent and its children to her home. The guests become drunk. The lover binds the serpent with a rope, and the weather god arrives and kills it.

In the first part of the Daredevils of Sasun the pagan king from foreign land, Tsovinar’s husband and her sons’ step father, tries to sacrifice the twins. Their mother, Tsovinar, finds out and admonishes the brothers. They, in turn, bind the king, drink wine, and defeat the king and his troops.

According to the research of Armen Petrosyan, Tsovinar is etymologized as tsov ( ‘sea’) + Nar. * Nar is a reconstructed theonym which appears in the refrains of folk songs ( Hoy Nar ‘great Nar’, etc.) In the considered texts the characters and names of Tsovinar and Inara are comparable.

Some Indo – European deities are close to Covinar, such as German goddess Nerthus ( * ner – to – ), Island Njorthr ( the father of Freyr and Freyja ), Greek Nereus, Nereids, Sabinian Nerio (like Tsovinar they are connected with water and the sea).

The Hittites who rose in the Second Millennium BCE called Armenia – Hayasa, Land of Hay. Hay is self designation name meaning “Armenian.”

Painting by Martin Akoghlyan. Tsovinar with twins- Sanasar and Baghdasar.

From → Uncategorized

100 Comments
  1. This web site certainly has all the information and facts I needed concerning this subject and didn’t know who to ask.

  2. Way cool! Some extremely valid points! I appreciate you penning this post and also the rest of the website is very good.

  3. I simply couldn’t leave your website before suggesting that I
    really enjoyed the standard info a person supply for your
    visitors? Is gonna be back ceaselessly to inspect new posts

  4. Simply desire to say your article is as amazing. The clearness in your post is simply cool and i could assume you’re an expert on
    this subject. Well with your permission allow me to grab your
    RSS feed to keep up to date with forthcoming post.
    Thanks a million and please carry on the enjoyable work.

  5. Wonderful story, reckoned we could combine some unrelated information, nonetheless seriously worth taking a appear, whoa did 1 master about Mid East has got a lot more problerms at the same time.

  6. If some one wishes to be updated with most up-to-date technologies then he must be go to see this web
    page and be up to date every day.

  7. This blog was… how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I have found something that
    helped me. Appreciate it!

  8. I’d like to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in penning
    this website. I am hoping to view the same high-grade content by
    you in the future as well. In truth, your creative
    writing abilities has encouraged me to get my very own site now 😉

  9. Have you ever thought about creating an e-book or guest authoring on other blogs?
    I have a blog based upon on the same ideas you discuss and would love
    to have you share some stories/information. I know my viewers would appreciate your work.

    If you’re even remotely interested, feel free to send me an e mail.

  10. Prettу nice post. Ӏ simρly ѕtumbled uupon yοur weblog and wished to say that Ι have truly enjoyеԁ surfing around yoսr blog posts.
    In any case I will be subscribing for you feed and Ι’m hοping you write again vedy soߋn!

  11. It’s perfect time to make some plans for the future and
    it is time to be happy. I have read this post and if I could I desire
    to suggest you some interesting things or suggestions.

    Perhaps you could write next articles referring to this article.
    I desire to read more things about it!

  12. What’s up mates, fastidious piece of writing and fastidious urging commented at this place, I am in fact enjoying by these.

  13. Aw, this was a really nice post. Taking a few minutes and actual effort to generate a good article… but what
    can I say… I procrastinate a lot and never seem to get nearly anything done.

  14. You actually make it appear so easy along with your presentation however I find this matter to
    be actually something that I feel I would never understand.
    It seems too complicated and extremely huge for me.
    I’m looking ahead in your next publish, I will try to get the grasp of it!

  15. Hi there, all is going well here and ofcourse every one is sharing facts,
    that’s genuinely fine, keep up writing.

  16. Hmm it appears like your website ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up
    what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.

    I as well am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to
    everything. Do you have any tips and hints
    for inexperienced blog writers? I’d certainly appreciate it.

  17. I don’t know whether it’s just me or if perhaps everyone else experiencing issues with your site.
    It appears as if some of the text in your content are running off the screen.
    Can somebody else please comment and let me know if this is happening to them as well?
    This might be a issue with my browser because I’ve had this
    happen previously. Cheers

  18. This is my first time pay a quick visit at here and i
    am actually pleassant to read all at alone place.

  19. I constaոtly emailed this web sіte poѕt paցe to all my associates,
    as if liкe tߋ reаd it then my contacts will too.

  20. Wonderful goods from you, man. I have understand your stuff previous to and you’re just extremely magnificent.
    I really like what you’ve acquired here, certainly like what you’re stating and the way in which
    you say it. You make it enjoyable and you still care for to keep it
    smart. I cant wait to read much more from you. This is actually a wonderful site.

  21. Thanks in favor of sharing such a fastidious thought, piece of writing is nice, thats
    why i have read it entirely

  22. If you are going for best contents like I do, only visit this site every day
    as it offers quality contents, thanks

  23. Howdy! Someone in my Myspace group shared this website with us so
    I came to take a look. I’m definitely loving the
    information. I’m book-marking and will be tweeting this to my followers!
    Exceptional blog and fantastic style and design.

  24. Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is a very well written article.
    I will make sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your useful information.
    Thanks for the post. I’ll definitely comeback.

  25. It’s amazing to visit this web page and reading the views of all colleagues regarding this piece of writing,
    while I am also zealous of getting familiarity.

  26. Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is a really
    well written article. I’ll make sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your useful info.
    Thanks for the post. I’ll definitely return.

  27. This is my first time go to see at here and i am truly happy to read all at single place.

  28. I do trust all the concepts you have offered on your post.
    They are very convincing and will definitely work. Still, the posts are too brief for beginners.
    Could you please lengthen them a little from next time?
    Thank you for the post.

  29. Armenian TSOVINAR and Hittite INARA | narinnamkn
    [url=http://www.gzr71ec96n4a3313zcze9xs0h8452i9ds.org/]upgxitrktkc[/url]
    pgxitrktkc http://www.gzr71ec96n4a3313zcze9xs0h8452i9ds.org/
    apgxitrktkc

  30. Armenian TSOVINAR and Hittite INARA | narinnamkn
    [url=http://www.g26q1t02x9g75vpd6g81djkn3m7c0k70s.org/]ugmieewbkrw[/url]
    gmieewbkrw http://www.g26q1t02x9g75vpd6g81djkn3m7c0k70s.org/
    agmieewbkrw

  31. Armenian TSOVINAR and Hittite INARA | narinnamkn
    ayxhngvxmpq
    [url=http://www.gd7t573l2ibbme7a5066aw6he604d7s0s.org/]uyxhngvxmpq[/url]
    yxhngvxmpq http://www.gd7t573l2ibbme7a5066aw6he604d7s0s.org/

  32. Very good article. I definitely appreciate this website.
    Keep writing!

  33. Hello i am kavin, its my first time to commenting anyplace, when i read this article i thought i could also
    create comment due to this good post.

  34. Appreciating the dedication you put into your website and detailed
    information you provide. It’s great to come across a blog every once in a while that
    isn’t the same outdated rehashed material. Great read! I’ve bookmarked your site and
    I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  35. Hello my loved one! I wish to say that this post is awesome, great written and include almost all vital
    infos. I’d like to peer more posts like this .

  36. Having read this I thought it was very enlightening.
    I appreciate you spending some time and energy to put this article together.
    I once again find myself personally spending way too much time both reading and posting comments.

    But so what, it was still worthwhile!

  37. I am regular reader, how are you everybody? This post posted at this website is genuinely fastidious.

  38. I could not resist commenting. Exceptionally well written!

  39. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I’ve truly enjoyed browsing your blog
    posts. In any case I will be subscribing to your rss feed and I
    hope you write again very soon!

  40. Fantastic beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your web
    site, how could i subscribe for a blog web site? The account aided
    me a acceptable deal. I have been a little
    bit acquainted of this your broadcast offered vibrant
    transparent idea

  41. I wanted to thank you for this good read!! I certainly enjoyed every bit of it.

    I’ve got you saved as a favorite to look at new things you post…

  42. What’s up to every one, for the reason that I am truly keen of reading this weblog’s post to be updated regularly.
    It carries good data.

  43. Touche. Great arguments. Keep up the good effort.

  44. Hi, Neat post. There is a problem with your site in web explorer, might test this?
    IE nonetheless is the market leader and a good section of other folks will pass over your wonderful writing due to this problem.

  45. Excellent post. I am facing a few of these issues as well..

  46. Hello! I simply wish to offer you a huge thumbs up for
    your excellent info you have got right here on this post.
    I am coming back to your site for more soon.

  47. Hello, constantly i used to check website posts here early in the dawn, because i enjoy
    to find out more and more.

  48. Thank you for the auspicious writeup. It in fact was a amusement account it.
    Look advanced to more added agreeable from you! By the way, how can we
    communicate?

  49. When some one searches for his necessary thing, so he/she desires to be
    available that in detail, thus that thing is maintained over here.

  50. Hi there to all, for the reason that I am actually
    eager of reading this blog’s post to be updated daily. It includes good data.

  51. Greetings from Los angeles! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to check out your
    blog on my iphone during lunch break. I love the info you provide here and can’t
    wait to take a look when I get home. I’m amazed at how quick your blog loaded on my phone
    .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, great blog!

  52. Your style is very unique in comparison to other people I
    have read stuff from. Many thanks for posting when you
    have the opportunity, Guess I will just book mark this page.

  53. Superb, what a blog it is! This website provides helpful information to us, keep it
    up.

  54. Good post. I learn something totally new and challenging on blogs I
    stumbleupon every day. It will always be interesting to read through content from other authors and practice
    something from their websites.

  55. You can certainly see your skills in the work you write.
    The sector hopes for more passionate writers such as you who aren’t afraid to say
    how they believe. All the time follow your heart.

  56. I am in fact happy to read this blog posts which consists of tons of helpful information, thanks for providing these data.

  57. I am not sure where you’re getting your information, but good topic.
    I needs to spend some time learning more or understanding more.
    Thanks for great information I was looking for this information for my mission.

  58. Usually I do not learn article on blogs, but I wish to say that this write-up very pressured
    me to try and do it! Your writing style has been amazed me.
    Thank you, very nice post.

  59. I was recommended this web site by way of my cousin. I’m not positive whether or not this post is written through him as
    nobody else recognize such designated approximately my difficulty.
    You’re wonderful! Thanks!

  60. Thanks for the good writeup. It in truth was once
    a entertainment account it. Look complicated to more introduced agreeable from you!
    By the way, how could we keep up a correspondence?

  61. Wow, this post is nice, my younger sister is analyzing these kinds of things, thus I
    am going to inform her.

  62. Awesome blog! Do you have any hints for aspiring writers? I’m planning to start
    my own website soon but I’m a little lost on everything.

    Would you suggest starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid
    option? There are so many options out there that I’m totally overwhelmed
    .. Any suggestions? Bless you!

  63. Appreciating the persistence you put into your website and in depth information you offer.
    It’s good to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same outdated rehashed information. Great read!

    I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m including your
    RSS feeds to my Google account.

  64. Fantastic website. Plenty of useful information here.
    I am sending it to some friends ans also sharing in delicious.
    And certainly, thank you on your sweat!

  65. Wow that was odd. I just wrote an extremely long comment but after
    I clicked submit my comment didn’t appear. Grrrr…
    well I’m not writing all that over again. Anyway, just wanted
    to say wonderful blog!

  66. I’m not that much of a online reader to be honest but your sites really nice, keep
    it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your site to come back later on.
    Many thanks

  67. This paragraph is in fact a pleasant one it helps new net people, who are wishing in favor of blogging.

  68. Your mode of telling everything in this paragraph is genuinely fastidious, every one be capable of easily understand it,
    Thanks a lot.

  69. Ahaa, its good dialogue on the topic of this post here at this webpage, I
    have read all that, so now me also commenting at this place.

  70. There is definately a great deal to find out about thiss topic.
    I really like all of the poiknts you’ve made.

  71. Ι could not гefrɑin from commenting. Well written!

  72. each time i used to read smaller posts that as well clear their motive, and that is also happening with this post which I am reading now.

  73. Hey there! This post couldn’t be written any better!
    Reading this post reminds me of my good old room mate! He always kept chatting about this.

    I will forward this page to him. Fairly certain he will have a good read.
    Thanks for sharing!

  74. I’m gone to inform my little brother, that he should also go to see this weblog on regular basis to take updated from hottest information.

  75. Hey there! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be ok.

    I’m definitely enjoying your blog and look forward to new posts.

  76. You have made some decent points there. I checked on the
    neet foor more info about the issue and found most individuals will go along with your views on this site.

  77. What’s up, I want to subscribe for this webpage to obtain newest
    updates, therefore where can i do it please help out.

  78. Thank you for sharing your info. I truly appreciate your efforts and I am waiting for your further post thanks once
    again.

  79. Hey there! I just discovered your site: Armenian TSOVINAR
    and Hittite INARA when I was exploring reddit.com.
    It looks as though someone enjpyed your site so much they decided to bookmark it.
    I’ll undoubtedly be reurning hedre more often.

  80. Hurrah! After all I got a blog from where I be able to
    genuinely get helpful facts regarding my study and
    knowledge.

  81. whoah this weblog is excellent i love reading your articles.
    Stay up the great work! You know, a lot of persons are hunting around for this info, you can help them
    greatly.

  82. Thank you for the good writeup. It in fact was a amusement account
    it. Look advanced to more added agreeable from you! However, how could we communicate?

  83. Good info. Lucky me I came across your website by accident (stumbleupon).
    I’ve book marked it for later!

  84. Hello, yup this article is truly pleasant
    and I have learned lot of things from iit on the topic of blogging.
    thanks.

  85. hello there and thank you for your information – I’ve certainly picked up anything new
    from right here. I did however expertise some technical issues using this site,
    as I experienced to reload the website lots of times previous to
    I could get it to load properly. I had been wondering if your web hosting
    is OK? Not that I’m complaining, but sluggish loading instances times
    will sometimes affect your placement in google and can damage your quality score if ads and marketing
    with Adwords. Anyway I’m adding this RSS to my e-mail and can look out for a lot more of your respective exciting content.

    Ensure that you update this again soon.

  86. Pretty great post. I simply stumbled upon your weblog and
    wanted to mention that I have truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts.
    In any case I’ll be subscribing on your feed and I am hoping you write again soon!

  87. What’s up, everything is going nicely here and ofcourse every one is sharing data, that’s in fact excellent,
    keep up writing.

  88. Marvelous, what a blog it is! This web site presents useful data to us,
    keep it up.

  89. Thank you for sharing your thoughts. I truly appreciate
    your efforts and I am waiting for your next write ups thanks once again.

  90. Do you mind if I quote a few of your posts as long as I provide credit and sources back to your blog?
    My website is in the exact same niche as yours and my users
    would certainly benefit from some of the information you present here.

    Please let me know if this alright with you. Thanks!

  91. really love the post

  92. Keep on writing, great job!

  93. It’s an interesting approach that could well show up the ITER folks. And, it could teach us lots of interesting things about plasma and plasma containment.

  94. Oh my goodness! Awesome article dude! Thank you, However I
    am having difficulties with your RSS. I don’t understand why I cannot
    join it. Is there anybody else having similar RSS problems?
    Anybody who knows the solution can you kindly respond?
    Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

